Moe Sihota

Strategic Counsel

  • Victoria

Phone: 250-812-8267

Moe was the first-ever Indo-Canadian elected to a Legislature in Canada. In 1986, he was elected MLA for Esquimalt- Port Renfrew. He was also the First Indo-Canadian to serve in a Cabinet in Canada. His ministerial experience gained in various ministries, including Public Service, Social Development, Education, Environment, Lands and Parks and Constitutional Affairs, to name a few, brings indispensable knowledge and political acumen to the Canadian Strategy Group team.

During his hiatus from government life between 2001 and 2008, he pursued a broadcasting career at Toronto’s City TV as inaugural talk show host and news commentator for The NewVI (now CTV 2). For the past 10 years, he has also been sharing insights and experience with Canadians as a weekly commentator on CBC Vancouver’s “Political Insiders Panel”.

Moe brings a vast knowledge of the internal and external workings of governments and the challenges the energy industry faces today. He has a strong network with BC and Alberta political staff, advisors, and politicians.

Professional Experience Highlights

  • President of the BC New Democratic Party from 2009-2013
  • Minister of Social Development (2000)
  • Minister of Public Service (1999)
  • Government House Leader (1998)
  • Minister of Education (1997)
  • Minister of Environment, Lands and Parks (1993-1997)
  • Minister of Constitutional Affairs, Minister of Labour, Minister of Consumer Services Minister Responsible for BC Hydro and the Insurance Corporation of B.C. (1991)
  • Elected in three consecutive provincial elections 1986, 1991, 1996, as a New
  • Democrat in the ridings of Esquimalt – Port Renfrew and Esquimalt-Metchosin, BC
  • Elected Alderman in the Township of Esquimalt, 1984

Committee and Board History

  • Board Member BC Hydro and Power Authority
  • Board Member Insurance Corporation of British Columbia
  • Board Member Workers Compensation Board
  • Board Member BC Building Corporation
  • Member, Board of Governors for the University of British Columbia